promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Google Video -- is this a real email or a scam?

"Dear Google Video User,

Later this month, hosted video content on Google Video will no longer be available for playback. Google Video stopped taking uploads in May 2009 and now we’re removing the remaining hosted content. We've always maintained that the strength of Google Video is its ability to let people search videos from across the web, regardless of where those videos are hosted. And this move will enable us to focus on developing these technologies further to the benefit of searchers worldwide.

On April 29, 2011, videos that have been uploaded to Google Video will no longer be available for playback. We’ve added a Download button to the video status page, so you can download any video content you want to save. If you don’t want to download your content, you don’t need to do anything. (The Download feature will be disabled after May 13, 2011.)

We encourage you to move to your content to YouTube if you haven’t done so already. YouTube offers many video hosting options including the ability to share your videos privately or in an unlisted manner. To learn more go here.

Here’s how to download your videos:

Go to the Video Status page.

To download a video to your computer, click the Download Video link located on the right side of each of your videos in the Actions column.

Once a video has been downloaded, “Already Downloaded” will appear next to the Download Video link.

If you have many videos on Google Video, you may need to use the paging controls located on the bottom right of the page to access them all.

Please note: This download option will be available through May 13, 2011.

Thank you for being a Google Video user.

Sincerely,

The Google Video Team

© 2011 Google | 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043

Google is a trademark of Google Inc. All other company and product names may be trademarks of the respective companies with which they are associated.

You have received this mandatory email service announcement to update you about important changes to Google Video and your Google Video account."

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Looks to me like this is real. The UPload portion of this service was terminated in 2009 (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_Videos#Termina... Since then, they bought YouTube so it makes sense to eliminate this duplicate service. The email you posted does not ask for any private information but it does - presumably - provide a link and that could be faked. To play it safe, do not click on the link in the email but access Google Videos via your browser. You can then download and save any videos you want to keep.

    Edit: I just found a note on http://video.google.com/support/:

    "On April 29 2011, uploaded videos will no longer be available for playback."

    That pretty much confirms your email is legit.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Google Video is not providing a "download" button to any videos. In fact it has moved all the videos (or pretty much all) that used to be hosted on Google Video TO YouTube automatically. You just haven't noticed. And whoever hacked Google Support with that faked 'On April 29 2011, uploaded videos will no longer be available for playback." will no doubt be pleased to note that it has been removed and that visiting http://video.google.com/support/: will now give you the message:

    "We're sorry, but the information you've requested cannot be found." so much for the legitimacy. You don't need to worry about your uploaded videos---they've no doubt been on YouTube for quite some time and you just didn't notice.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.