Livia asked in HealthMental Health · 9 years ago

Do adults have better or worse memory than teenagers? Why?

Hi guys, i need help on an essay. I'm trying to do research and I need some help. Could you guys give me some brief information about my question so that I can further explain the information later? Please? Thank youu ! *

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi,

Im a medical student, as you are qriting an essay on this i assume you have some prior knowledge about the area/are studying it so here are some of the basics (as i understand them...its very complex!)

The storage of memory takes place in a number of key areas across the brain; involved in the process of learning and memory are the, hippocampus (medial elongated portion of the temporal lobe), various regions of the cerebrum and the cerebellum.

Memory is the storage of acquired knowledge for later recall, the neuronal changes that take place to allow storage and retention of a memory is known as the memory trace. Memory can be considered in three forms:

Short term memory lasting for seconds -> hours

Long term memory lasting for days -> years

Working memory is the process of taking short term memory and combining it with long term memory to complete as task such as drawing a clock then drawing the time on that clock.

The process of transferring a memory from short-term memory into a long-term memory is known as consolidation.

A single memory does not retained in a single neuron but rather is reflected in changes in quantities of synaptic neurotransmitter, or how neurons respond to a particular neurotransmitter, across a large neuronal network. Short-term memory involves transient modifications to pre-existing synapses whereas long-term memory involves permanent functional or structural changes between neurons. Three important regions of the brain associated with memory are the: