Anonymous
Anonymous asked in EnvironmentOther - Environment · 1 decade ago

i want to be an environmental scientist?

so i want to be an environmental engineer ( one of the many jobs you can get from becoming an environmental scientist ) so anyway how long do you think id be at college for? and are these the correct classes i should take?

geography

environmental science

chemistry

biology

and maths!

????

Update:

also is it a good job to have in the uk?

Update 2:

also is it a good job to have in the uk?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

If you want to be an environmental engineer...you should major in environmental engineering. I am an environmental scientist. While you can get most environmental engineering jobs as an environmental scientist. Some companies prefer environmental engineering. Environmental science on the other hand is more multidisciplinary and allows for a broader range of career choices typically.

As for classes, at university, you'll have core classes that include,

math

biology

microbiology

ecology

chemistry (typically at least through organic chem 2 sometimes further is required)

physics

geography classes can be helpful, but it depends on where ur interests are

- GIS is also a common class for envi science

geology classes can be helpful as well

Source(s): Environmental Scientist
  • J.
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago

Actually check with the suggested courses for such a direction of study at the university you plan on attending. Also look at similar job listings in the paper or online to see if the BS is adequate, you may have to go for an MS which will add 2 years to an expected 5 years of study. You will also see what other minors might be a good idea to approach. Learning a second or third language, evenif not perfect, can give you an advantage over others if you don't mind looking at potential jobs in other countries.