Information about an IT?

Do you have to sit in some cubicle all day? I'm going into the IT field but I had some questions. I don't want a boring office job.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I am a IT student. There are thousands of Fields in IT. You can go in any of them. You don't have to sit in front of the computer whole day to do the job.

Electrical Engineering

Information security

Computer/IT analyst

Network administration

Management consulting

Database administration

Computer forensics

IT sales

Software development

IT advocacy and marketing

Cloud Computing

Biological Computing

Bio-informatics

Robotics & Artificial Intelligence

Just check out these courses IT field offers:

http://www.eecs.ucf.edu/eecs-files/courses/EECSCou...

• Zeltar
    Lv 6
    10 years ago

Information Technology is a broad field. It depends on what part of IT you decide to work as to how office life will be for you. For a business analyst, it's possible you'll be going to meeting rooms, have teleconferences, and basically work in an office enviornment. You may be rather mobile so you can see how the business operates in order to figure out the requirements of a system you may be designing. On the other hand, it's just as possible you can gather this information via conversations on the phone and do the job that way.

If you're a programmer or a tester, you'll be doing it from a cubicle or home office. It is a fairly seditary job. It requires a lot of technical skills, with much architecture of "code". It is not boring. But, if you want to have physical movement in your job, it's not for you.

And... then there are computer rooms and desktop support jobs. These jobs can be some of the most physically mobile. And, they can involve big office moves during corporate mergers, reorganizations, and massive redeployment of equiment (to keep up with technology upgrades). The job could involve talking to lots of internal customers.