Do you remember your first lesson?

How'd it go for you? Any tips for my first lesson?

:]

14 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Best Answer

My first lesson... let's see... I was nine years old. It's kinda funny, because I only rode at that barn for about 2 months, and then we stopped because the school horse we were riding got sick and the other horses had too many students already. I never saw or heard of that barn again, until recently, when I interned with my barn owner, who happens to do some part-time training at this other barn. Now I go there all the time to take care of some peoples' horses while they are away, or to help out my barn owner.

Anyway... I remember meeting my instructor for the first time. I'd loved horses for years, but I'd only ridden a few times. Still, I read the Pony Pals books and watched the Saddle Club, and I make-believe had a horse of my own, so in my head, I was an expert. My instructor introduced herself, and asked me, "So, are you an experienced rider?" I gave her a very firm, "Yes." My mom, who was standing behind me, was shaking her head violently so that I couldn't see... :P

I rode a little grey pony named Blue. I rode her bareback on a lunge line, so that I could start learning to develop my seat. I think we just walked that day. I can't remember much else at all from that lesson.

I also found out recently that my barn owner's really good friend owned Blue, but that the pony had passed away only a few months after I'd stopped riding there. (she was the one who got sick so we stopped riding.)