Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthDiseases & ConditionsCancer · 9 years ago

If I had cancer would I be dead by now...?

O.K, I'm a 15 year old female. I don't really want to go into detail, but I used talcum powder in my underwear to "freshen up". I've been doing it almost everyday for the past 2 years...then I read somewhere that talcum powder has asbestos in it, and it could cause ovarian cancer.

I'm really, really scared. My periods are irregular. I'm definitely going to STOP doing it; but I'm really scared I'm going to die when I'm older. I don't even see the point in going to school, work, or anything because I'm just going to die soon anyway.

I haven't lost weight involuntarily; I do have a bit of "bad bowel movement" (but I think it's a bug going around, because everybody in my family has had a bad gut ache...)

I sometimes feel lower abdominal pain (on the left side). I kind of brushed the pain off as "nothing to worry about".

Help, I'm terrified. Absolutely, terrified...I don't know what to do any more, my life is ruined, all because of my stupid ******* self. GRR.

BTW I'm too scared to tell my Mom, my Dad or anybody...if I die, I'll just die from the tumor right then and there. :(

I just want this to go away...but it won't get out of my head...I only want somebody to tell me it will be okay :(

4 Answers

Relevance
  • lo_mcg
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Please calm down, you are worrying over nothing.

Asbestos has not been used in any talc since before the 1970s. And anyway, exposure to asbestos only increases the risk of ovarian cancer in women with long-term exposure to asbestos due to their jobs.

Nobody knows what causes cancer, including ovarian cancer.Some studies have indicated an increase in risk with the use of talc, others have found no such link. One study indicated an increase in risk after 20+ years daily use.