Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureReligion & Spirituality · 9 years ago

What keeps the earth spinning about its own axis and at the same time revolving around the sun if not god?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Best Answer

The giant hamster at the center of the Earth?

• Strega
    Lv 7
    9 years ago

Newton's first law: an object in motion tends to stay in motion and an object at rest tends to stay at rest unless acted upon by an oustide force. So once in motion, no driving force is needed to keep the planet spinning and orbiting.

Inertia? I'm not a scientist but this has been explained.

• 9 years ago

The Laws of Planetary Motion

The creation scientist Johannes Kepler discovered that the planets in our solar system obey three laws of nature. He found that planets orbit in ellipses (not perfect circles as had been previously thought) with the sun at one focus of the ellipse; thus, a given planet is sometimes closer to the sun than at other times. Kepler found that planets sweep out equal areas in equal times — in other words, planets speed up as they get closer to the sun within their orbit. And third, Kepler found the exact mathematical relationship between a planet’s distance from the sun (a) as measured in AUs, and its orbital period (p) as measured in years; planets that are farther from the sun take much longer to orbit than planets that are closer (expressed as p**2 = a**3). Kepler’s laws also apply to the orbits of moons around a given planet. {1}

As with the laws of chemistry, these laws of planetary motion are not fundamental. Rather, they are the logical derivation of other laws of nature. In fact, it was another creation scientist (Sir Isaac Newton) who discovered that Kepler’s laws could be derived mathematically from certain laws of physics — specifically, the laws of gravity and motion (which Newton himself formulated).

The Laws of Physics