Most rewarding career in Sports Medicine?

I am a freshman Athletic Training Student. I have a 3.8 GPA and have hopes to go to some sort of medical/graduate school after my undergrad. I am also a first generation college student, so i cant go to my family for most of my questions.

Between the careers of Athletic Trainer, Physician Assistant, Physical Therapist, Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.), Podiatrist, Nurse Anethesist, and M.D.; which would be the best and most rewarding for me?

1. I do not want to work ridiculous hours, I want to have a family life and not have to be on call. I want to be involved with my children lives and dont want work to be "my life"

2. I want a salary that allows me to take care of my family and make a substantial amount doing so. I dont have to be rich, but I want to have money.

3. I want to be in a position to help people. i want to have a career where I am making a difference by making people's lives easier and helping them stay healthy or if they are not, then regain their health.

4. I am a leader, not a follower. Not saying that I couldn't work under someone, but that's just a personality trait of mine.

Saying all of this, which way should I go with my career path?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

If having rather normal hours is important to you, I would automatically forget being an osteopath or physician. You will be required to be on call and the pressure to perform is really high...especially if you want to go into orthopedic surgery. However, if you feel confident in your ability to set boundries, you can become a physician without a completely ridiculous lifestyle. You won't make oodles of money, but you can have a comfortable living...you might have to go into private practice as partnerships are generally high pressure performance settings. Physician salaries can vary widely...from the low $100 K to well over a half million a year.