Could i be a police officer with prior drug use if I am qualified in other areas?

I have has prior drug use as a kid - all before the age of 16. I have used cocain, marijuana, ecstasy and mushrooms. I am now 19 going on 20 and a United States Marine. I hope to have a degree in biz admin within the next few years as well. I obviously dont do drugs anymore and i dont even drink. It was just stupid stuff i did as a kid. Also, can i become swat or work in k-9 units if i am a city cop? I am not sure if those oppurtunites are only avaialbe for county cops. I want to work Baltimore city by the way.

Oh yeah and if i have a secret clearance from the military, will still get a background check from the police department? Thanks

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Best Answer

It is possible that you could still become a police officer. Some departments would not consider you, but some would consider you in a few years. However, getting police officer jobs is becoming more and more competitive. There will likely be applicants as qualified as you or more qualified than you that haven't used drugs or that haven't used hard drugs. Different departments have different policies pertaining to applicants and past drug use. For example, some departments that won't consider you if you've used marijuana more than 25 times even if it was when you were a juvenile and even if it was several years ago. Some would still consider you if enough time has passed since you've last used marijuana. Many departments, not just county departments, have SWAT teams and K9 officers. Don't do anything illegal. Maintain a good reputation. Keep a good driving record. Don't get bad credit. Get a college degree. Try to get a 4 year degree with a high grade point average. Stay as physically fit as you can. A police department will still do a background investigation even if you have a security clearance. Best of luck!

• Anonymous
    9 years ago