Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceOther - Education · 9 years ago

Any Ace Mud School Reviews?

Any students in Ace Mud School that could give me some advice and/or review their experience? I'm enrolled in their next course and I'm looking for any Ace Mud Engineers with good info to share.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I found your question when I was checking to see if they added our class picture to their site yet. I'm a graduate and I had a good experience so I'll give you my two cents...

The first few days of the course are filled with good general information about drilling fluids and the drilling rig so that you can get brought up to speed on everything that entry level Mud Engineers see and use on the job. This is all covered in the first 10 or so power point lectures and it really let everyone in our class get used to being back in "school".

After these introduction or "primer" lectures we did some basic field calculations which were really pretty easy (and I normally have a hard time with math). Then, when we finished our problem sets, we got to start lab work which teaches you how to perform each basic Mud Test using a Mud Kit and a Mud Manual. During labs you work with a partner and most of the rest of class is spent troubleshooting contaminants in different Muds with different products. Some Muds are more tough to fix than others, but you get to take enough breaks so that you don't burn out like a hot Retort. I remember that by the end of each week we were pretty worn out from testing Mud, but we still had enough time and energy to check out the area because there is a lot of fun to have in town.