Which AP's for engineering?

I am interested in majoring in engineering in college. I am currently a sophomore taking AP USH 1, as an AP. However, for my junior year, I have been accepted into AP Chemistry, AP Calculus, AP Language and Composition, AP Statistics, AP US Government and Politics, and AP USH 2. Which ones should I take for engineering and which ones aren't a hefty work load?

Thanks

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Tom
    Lv 7
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

AP Language and Composition is the most helpful because it will help with SAT CR and Writing scores and also at many colleges with a 3, 4 or 5 on the AP Exam, it can be used to eliminate having to take Freshman English classes which can be very time consuming in terms of reading and writing and can have very harsh grading. AP Calculus will be the next most helpful since Calculus during Junior year will be a large plus factor during admissions, especially if supplemented by 2nd year college calculus during Senior year. Most of the students I know who are admitted to MIT or Ivy Leagues have taken 2nd year College Calculus as a high school senior. Calculus is also a class that freshmen Engineering students generally take. The next would be AP Chemistry as this is another class that is part of a Freshman Engineering Major's curriculum. The plan should be to schedule SAT Subject Exams at the same time as the AP or Final exam in the course. Admissions will have the AP performance from Junior year so good performance in AP Calculus, English and Chemistry will serve well for admissions.

Workloads can vary widely. Generally AP US History that you are now taking is considered to be one of the most time consuming AP Classes. Between AP Language, AP Calculus and AP Chem, AP Language is probably the most time consuming for someone who is good at math and sciences.