College question, mostly about community service hours?

Okay so...I have a few questions for the experienced?

First of all, is it as difficult to gather up 200 hours of community service as it sounds? It's a very daunting number, and I do Key Club and Newman's Club weekly and I do walks when they come up, but I doubt I even have 100 yet. My friend recommended an intern at a hospital (she already has 250 hours, I'm so jealous) or volunteering at a library. Has anyone ever done this before? How does it work, and how many hours did it add to your transcript? Any other suggestions for someone who lives in the NY area? Also, how do you see how many community service hours you have? I received my transcript recently and didn't see anything on there. When will I be able to? How will I know when I've reached 200?

The problem here is, I'm doing this so quickly because, I'm just a sophomore and earlier in the year and in my freshmen year I thought I didn't need to hurry for the service hours because I didn't need to apply to colleges til mid-senior year. But now I'm realizing that for the NHS at my school (national honor's society) I need 200 hours even to apply to get in. Ouch. I'm going to guess colleges will see NHS on my transcript, right, and it might minimally affect my chances of getting in?

Also...I have the normal worries. I want to go for a Creative Writing major (not many colleges offer that, most just English with a minor of CW, but I'm very, very strongly passionate about my writing and know I want a job involving this) and of course the best college I know of (other than Colombia which is good for practically everything) is Kenyon in Gambier, Ohio which is an excellent, excellent Liberal Arts school. I've totally fallen in love with it. The campus is beautiful, the drive is 5-6 hours from my home so I can come visit some weekends, and they have a Creative Writing major.