Kate
Lv 5
Kate asked in Education & ReferenceTeaching · 9 years ago

Should I teach elementary, middle, or high school?

I'm 19 years old. I'm a freshman in college studying early childhood education. I'm not enjoying my major. For elementary, I love the kids. For middle and high school, I like the subject matter. I'm really good at English, History, and Geography. Those were my fave subjects in high school. Should I teach elementary, middle, or high school?

Update:

Along with Health and Physical Education.

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I am an elementary teacher (majored in Elementary education K-6) and although I enjoy my job, its HARD to get a job in elementary education unless you know a principal or someone high up in the district to help you get a job. I graduated with a 4.0 and the only job I could get within 5 states was in inner cities, and let me tell you...its not worth it! Its too stressful.

That being said, there are more middle/high school jobs than elementary. Since you would be picking a subject matter to teach, your degree would be to teach that subject matter in grades 7-12....so your degree would be to teach middle OR high school, giving you more options! (Just like an elementary degree lets you teach K-6). I would say to go for English or History education...both are marketable (I would say English is a little more marketable) and you could teach 7-12 with a degree in either one.

(A degree in health and physical education is becoming less and less popular too because some schools are lessening their gym time and even putting their gym teachers to part time)

• Login to reply the answers
  • 4 years ago

For the best answers, search on this site https://shorturl.im/axlxQ