Jason asked in HealthDiet & Fitness · 9 years ago

i've been working out for over 5 years, and still cannot get six pack abs, what is wrong with me!?

ill try going into detail as much as i can:

height: 5'10

ethnicity: white

age i started working out: 16

age now: turned 21 a few days ago.

weight when i was 16: 175

now: 143

this girl i asked out in high school laughed at me and said 'um your kidding right, lose some weight' and it hurt me really really really bad.

so i joined the gym, and i lost a TON of weight, i wasnt super fat, i had the round belly and no definiton anywhere on me.

i got pretty annorexic skinny to be honest. i was at 127 at my lowest.

so i had skinny arms and legs and a pretty skinny torso too at the time, you can see the hip bones and rib cage kinda, but i had no six pack, that was my real goal ever since i started.

then i got a girlfriend who was horrible. the first time i took off my shirt in front of her she said "oh.. i thought you had a six pack.. um.. yea" that KILLED me, man it shot my self esteem down.

i worked out a lot after that! but i remained annorexic skinny and no abs still.

after the breakup, i realized i had to eat more protein, so i did. the past year and a half, i have bulked up. my arms are bigger, i have pecs, you can still see my hip bones, and you can see the top 4 abs, i can see the lower 2 very vaguley when i flex hard and everything, but its just not THERE, like if someone said, 'hey lift your shirt', i'd have to pose and flex and hold my breath.

im 143 now, i do have muscle now, not annorexic, i workout 6-7 days a week, i take Up Your Mass protein right after a workout, and ill eat 4 egg whites with chicken breast as well.

i workout everything too, not just abs, my arms, legs, back, triceps, pecs, etc.

i run everytime i go to the gym, and 4 days a week i run at least 30 minutes if not longer.