Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkCooking & Recipes · 9 years ago

Roast Beef Recipe, Plz?

Hello Cooks! Im writing today to get a little bit of help with prepartion of an amazing, tender, juicy, roast beef. Some things you should know about me...Im an excellent cook (although Ive never made a roast beef, like the one Im looking to make soon), so any degree of recipe difficulty is fine. Money is not a huge object, Im willing to pay extra for that perfect, show stopping, cut of beef. And lastly, my family enjoys medium rare cuts that are tender, not chewy, not fatty, and will look great when sliced up and served with some yukon gold mashers. Now I have a fantastic slow cooker pot roast recipe (if youre interested, you can find it on food network, its paula deens, prepared in a crock pot and your family will go nuts over it, I promise), but thats not what Im looking for. For that I use a relatively inexpensive bonesless chuck roast and its "fall off the bone" sloppy tender by the time its done. We love it, but Im not going for that style. Does anyone have a tried and true, excellent beef roast recipe? Ill need to know everything, so I dont mess it up...what cut is the best (everyone seems to have an opinion, but everyone says something different!), I do not want to put it in a crock pot, I I want it moist and tender, not dry, not well done, and not falling apart. I made a standing rib roast for Christmas, it was beautifully presented and succulent, but again, not what I consider "roast beef". Its silly to say this, but Im looking for a "sign of the beefcarver" style dinner. If your a roast master, please share your secret with me (again, cut, seasoning, method, timing, recommended meat weight before cooking, and any special requests from the butcher). Thanks so much!! Oh, and Id love to have drippings to make a pan gravy. I found a recipe on AllRecipes.com that had a ton of favorable reviews but was cooked in the oven, on a rack, without any liquid. Doesnt it s