Being an exchange student in the U.S?

Hi

I am in an exchange student program, where I will be an exchange student in the U.S I have yet to accept the offer.

I would like to know how the education are in U.S and how the social life is. Overall I would like to hear if it is worth it is.

I am 16 year old and will thus attend high school

Background info:

I live in Norway, I was born and raised my whole life in Norway. My parents are immigrants from Afghanistan.

How will this affect me?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hello!

Being an exchange student is definitely worth it! It's an incredible experience where you will get to know yourself, another culture and in many cases become closer to your own culture (I learned a lot about how other parts of the world see my country). I was an exchange student to Germany, and that lead me to working with exchange students such as yourself. From a professional aspect, I can tell you that it is REALLY COOL when there are exchange students with multi-cultural backgrounds! Families get really excited not only to learn about Norwegian culture, but also to learn about being Norwegian as a first-generation child. Being of Afghan descent will make you stand out from the crowd :)

Education in the U.S. is a mixed bag. Depending on your high school, you may find school really easy, on par with Norway, or really hard. Most students tend to feel U.S. school is easy BUT note one big difference: lots of homework. Grades are not based on one or two exams or projects, but on a collection of things, including often daily homework assignments. You can find school "easy" but still get a failing grade if you don't complete your homework. There are also a lot more "creative" assignments and less "by rote."