Brian
Lv 4
Brian asked in Cars & TransportationAircraft · 10 years ago

Positive Static & Dynamic Stability?

I do not really understand those in my Test Prep book, their explanations, even with the diagrams. It is a little confusing. I am a student pilot, so please give me some lee-way. Can you please explain this a little better? Thanks!

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Positive static stability means the aircraft will continue on the path it's on if it is not disturbed.

Positive dynamic stability means it will return to the original path after being disturbed.

Some aircraft like the C-172 have negative static stability around the yaw axis. If left alone they will go off course and fly in a large circle. The pilot makes constant corrections to stay on course. Other aircraft like a Beech Skipper have so much dynamic stability around the yaw axis that they dutch roll or waddle as they fly straight ahead. The pilot can damp the waddle out with constant input to the rudder or just waggle along. The designers of these two aircraft made a couscous choice for one kind of stability over the other.

• Erika
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

Dynamic Stability Definition

• FanMan
    Lv 5
    10 years ago

Static stability: Picture a marble in a bowl. Move it, and it rolls back to the bottom center. That's positive static stability (it is stable). Put the marble on a flat plate. It stays put wherever you put it, but it doesn't tend to go back to center; that's neutral static stability. Now put the marble on top of an upside down bowl; not only does it not stay put but it rolls faster and faster away from the center. That's negative static stability. Similarly, a statically stable airplane, if you pull its nose up and then let go of the controls, will tend to nose down and return to level flight, perhaps after a few oscillations.