Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesBooks & Authors · 10 years ago

Great books that involve norse mythology?

Are their any recent books at there that are heavily influenced by norse mythology? But then again its ok if there not recent. It would be nice though if there were young adult books focused on norse mythology.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Runemarks (Jan 2008)

    Harris, Joanne, 1964-.

    Teens Fiction .

    Description:Maddy Smith, who bears the mysterious mark of a rune on her hand, learns that she is destined to join the gods of Norse mythology and play a role in the fate of the world..

    The raven's ring pin (Mar 2004)

    Anacker, John W., 1960-.

    Teens Fiction .

    Description:After his father moves the family so that he can be winter caretaker at Yellowstone's Geyser Inn, fifteen-year-old Samuel is lonely and miserable until he encounters two ravens with a magic pin and he is transported to a place and time inhabited by characters from Norse mythology

    Captivate (Jan 2010).

    .Author:Jones, Carrie.

    Teens Fiction .

    Series:Need series, 2.

    Description:High school junior Zara and her friends continue to try to contain the pixies that threaten their small Maine town, but when a Valkyrie takes Zara's boyfriend, Nick, to Valhalla, the only way to save him is to trust a pixie king, Astley..

    Nancy Farmer

    Series: Sea of Trolls trilogy, 3

  • 4 years ago

    Mythology Books For Young Adults

  • 10 years ago

    Not young adult, but not too intense on Adult themes and an awesome book, American Gods by Neil Gaiman has a lot of Norse mythology in it (as well as some Egyptian, African, Scandanavian, and just about every other myth system you could imagine, but Norse is one of the more important ones in the book).

    Eight Days of Luke by Diana Wynne Jones isn't super recent (1970s I think?) but it's about Norse mythology.

    Runemarks by Joann Harris is a newer book based on norse mythology. I believe it is technically a "kids" book, but much in the vein of HP and Percy Jackson, it could be read by older readers. And it has sequels coming out.

    Nancy Farmer has a series starting with "The Sea of Trolls" that is based on/influenced by Norse myths (the first book is "influenced by", the second is more "based on")

  • 10 years ago

    The Age of Odin by James Lovegrove.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 10 years ago

    Check out the link below. It has a great short story called the Frost Giant's Daughter.

  • Anonymous
    10 years ago
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.