Is it common to neglect the rudder during flight training (PPL)?

Hello everyone, I'm a student pilot with about 6 hours logged and predicted to solo at 9 or 10. I've had two flight instructors so far, and whenever I keep the ball centered during turns, they both instructed me to completely neglect the rudder during turns, letting the inclinometer's ball wobble around slightly. For those of you in (or have gone through) flight training, or are flight instructors, is this common advice given to student? I had my girlfriend with me in the back seat the last time I flew and she got airsick, though I suspect the heavy turbulence was more to blame than my lack of keeping the aircraft from yawing about its vertical axis.

other information: aircraft type- Piper Archer II. On the last flight, my instructor's insistence on leaving the rudder alone had me flying with the ball more than a radius to the right of its centered position. I'm also not bashing my instructors here, just trying to figure out why they would have me do something that would avoid the benefits of coordinated flight.

Update:

About the prediction of the 9-10 hours- that's my flight instructor's prediction, not mine. He said he wanted me to solo when i reach 8 hours, but I told him I thought it would be unsafe for me to solo with so little time. Again, I'm not getting an attitude, I'm simply curious.

Update 2:

And about 30 seconds after takeoff on Friday, his exact words were "Holy s---! How much time do you have in the sim?" I told him that averaging about 2 hours a day everyday for the past 7 and half years, I'd be a little over 5,000 hours. But still that's not normal flight training, sometimes I fly on VATSIM, but I usually do VFR and IFR flights at leisure.

Update 3: