is it safe to travel on london underground alone late evening/night?

I'm studying nursing and will have a variety of shifts which include night and evenings and i just wanted to know if london underground is safe to travel? if tubes get delayed what other method of transport is the safest?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • ?
    Lv 6
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I travel a lot late at night on the Central and Bakerloo lines, and I have never encountered any problems or anything that'd make me feel unsafe, and I'm usually very conscious of my safety, I won't even go to the shop on my own after 9 in my area!

I'd say that the next safest mode of transport will be a licensed mini cab, or a bus only if there isn't much walking involved to and from the stops.

I was waiting for my train at Harrow & Wealdstone not so long ago, and someone committed suicide on the track at the station so everyone was evacuated, the station was closed and the Bakerloo was suspended, so my only option was to try and figure out what bus to get.. So I got www.tfl.gov.uk up on my phone and used the journey planner to recalculate my journey, in the safest and quickest way. I recommend using it if you do happen to come across any problem. :)

• 3 years ago

London Underground At Night

• Anonymous
    9 years ago

Tube is a very safe way to travel. Just watch out for empty carrigies and dimly lit, side streets. I don't live in a nice part of London (South London, Elephant & Castle) and I have to take the tube at really late times but I have never been a victim of any kind of assault.

Source(s): Personal experience. Lining in da hood.
  • 9 years ago