Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Games & RecreationOther - Games & Recreation · 9 years ago

Tip for writing Dungeons & Dragons adventures?

I just started playing D&D 4e(i have played 3.5e for the longest time as a player) and this edition makes me want to DM a little bit. it would helpfully if i could get some advice or Tips on how to write an adventures and campaigns. thank you!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You must create your own adventure but I can help give you some ideas.

First you must know your party. (how many, what classes/races).

Most adventures include or are made up of quests. The best quests are when you are working for someone towards a certain goal.

-a god has lost a powerful magic item, you must find it

-a village is being attacked by dire wolves or a troll and the chieftain wants you to defeat this monster

-a mage needs the reagents for his spell, you must collect them (but of course they're guarded)

All adventures include some sort of monster to defeat or puzzle to solve. Its especially fun when it includes both of them. (a maze in the form of an abandoned mine full of/inhabited by goblins or kobolds)

In addition make sure to include a reward for your players or an incentive for them to complete the quest. An adventure can also be made up of a series of quests or be one big quest with mini-quests along the way so that the whole adventure last longer than one short quest.

Make sure to keep a store of different possible outcomes in case your party decides to go a different way then you expected them to. Also keep a couple random events handy in case the game comes to a standstill and you need to liven things up to keep the players on their toes.

Be sure to read the DM's guide! It is very useful.