What will happen when i upgraded Vista into a Windows 7?

What will happen when i upgraded a vista laptop into a Windows 7 laptop will all the Applications will be deleted or even the files?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    9 years ago
    Best Answer

    Upgrade means you can install Windows 7 by simply inserting the "Windows 7 Upgrade" disk into your DVD drive and follow the instructions on your screen. It does not require you to backup your files or reinstall your programs. But, it's a very good idea to backup your data (documents, pictures, music and videos) onto an external HDD or USB stick before doing this, just in case something happens.

    If you are planning to purchase Windows 7, I would recommend that you purchase the full instillation disk, not the upgrade disk. It's ALWAYS best to do a "clean install", because your system will run faster, there is less likely for things to go wrong and you get to start with a new slate. I've had upgrades go wrong. During clean install, you will be booting from your instillation disk and formating your hard drive. Here is a nice video showing you how to do this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8yWi2fwWnE

    Youtube thumbnail

    &feature=related

  • BBjoe
    Lv 4
    9 years ago

    You have a few options:

    Upgrade: Which can destroy everything and do a fresh install. Providing that you already have Vista on the system. It doesn't always work for XP, though. 32bit/64bit automatic detection.

    Full Non-Oem: Which can destroy everything and do a fresh install. No windows needed. 32bit/64bit automatic detection. A place like BestBuy.

    Full Oem: Which can destroy everything and do a fresh install. No windows needed. However legally can only be used with the 1 license (1 computer) it came with. No free technical support from Microsoft on Oems. Yes there are places that don't require an Oem with a System. You'll need to know if your system is 32bit or 64bit. 32bit PCs don't accept more than 3gb of Ram. A place like a local geek will have them. Local Geek Shops can be found on yellowpages.com or Canada yellowpages.ca , just search Computers on YellowPages.

    In many of these cases, you may be given the option to do an upgrade or non-destructive install.

    Backup your personal files onto any Usb Drive, just make it has enough space for your files. Doing a destructive install will make sure your system runs faster. Although you'll have to install the Programs, Drivers, Windows Updates afterwords.

    P.S. Leave the product key blank in Win7 and click Next. Windows 7 also has a mode similar to XP.

    YouTube has loads of info on it.

    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=upgrad...

    http://www.winsupersite.com/article/win7/clean-ins...

    http://www.zhangduo.com/udi.html

    Windows For Students:

    http://www.microsoft.com/student/en/us/software/wi...

    Canada http://www.microsoft.com/student/en/ca/windows/buy...

    http://microsoft.com/student

    Canada http://www.microsoft.com/student/en/ca/default.asp...

    YellowPages:

    http://yellowpages.com

    Canada http://yellowpages.ca

  • gulan
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

    Microsoft looks to hurry product to marketplace. for this reason, each and every 2d operating device is sturdy at the same time as those in between have intense topics. as an social gathering homestead windows ME had a foul memory leak, among different topics so XP corrected and stabilized the previous topics and grow to be a sturdy operating device. Vista grow to be back rushed to target to respond to the quite a few safe practices concerns and to manage the actual undeniable actuality that the Mac grow to be gaining intense momentum. Vista had all kinds of topics and now homestead windows 7 is envisioned to be the stabilizing, sturdy OS that corrects the topics. in the journey that they are actual to their historic past, this may be the case.

  • Anonymous
    9 years ago

    No if you upgrade it nothing will be deleted. I'm a computer technician and I own an online computer repair business, so don't worry I know what I'm saying haha :) . Just make sure you don't perform a fresh installation otherwise you'll lose everything. Just upgrade it, its easy, make sure to follow the instructions.

    Source(s): Emilio Simon Syco's Computer Repair Services "The Most Affordable Computer Repair Service Available" Email: info@syconyc.com Phone: 1-347-848-3940 Web: syconyc.com
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Bob
    Lv 7
    9 years ago

    No they will be ok as long as you do a upgrade install. I would do a back up just in case something goes wrong.

  • 9 years ago

    sticky notes that you will cherish.

    <3

  • Anonymous
    9 years ago

    k

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.