R asked in Politics & GovernmentImmigration · 9 years ago

Is this correct British Immigration email visa.immigration@consultant.com ?

I got a job offer and they want me to send the appointment letter to this address visa.immigration@consultant.com.....Not sure if this is a scam or not ????

14 Answers

  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    100% scam.

    There is no job.

    There is only a scammer trying to steal your hard-earned money.

    The next email will be from another of the scammer's fake names and free email addresses pretending to be the "immigration official" and will demand you pay for made-up fees, in cash, and only by Western Union or moneygram.

    Western Union and moneygram do not verify anything on the form the sender fills out, not the name, not the street address, not the country, not even the gender of the receiver, it all means absolutely nothing. The clerk will not bother to check ID and will simply hand off your cash to whomever walks in the door with the MTCN# and question/answer. Neither company will tell the sender who picked up the cash, at what store location or even in what country your money walked out the door. Neither company has any kind of refund policy, money sent is money gone forever.

    Now that you have responded to a scammer, you are on his 'potential sucker' list, he will try again to separate you from your cash. He will send you more emails from his other free email addresses using another of his fake names with all kinds of stories of great jobs, lottery winnings, millions in the bank and desperate, lonely, sexy singles. He will sell your email address to all his scamming buddies who will also send you dozens of fake emails all with the exact same goal, you sending them your cash via Western Union or moneygram.

    You could post up the email address and the emails themselves that the scammer is using, it will help make your post more googlable for other suspicious potential victims to find when looking for information.

    Do you know how to check the header of a received email? If not, you could google for information. Being able to read the header to determine the geographic location an email originated from will help you weed out the most obvious scams and scammers. Then delete and block that scammer. Don't bother to tell him that you know he is a scammer, it isn't worth your effort. He has one job in life, convincing victims to send him their hard-earned cash.

    Whenever suspicious or just plain curious, google everything, website addresses, names used, companies mentioned, phone numbers given, all email addresses, even sentences from the emails as you might be unpleasantly surprised at what you find already posted online. You can also post/ask here and every scam-warner-anti-fraud-busting site you can find before taking a chance and losing money to a scammer.

    6 "Rules to follow" to avoid most fake jobs:

    1) Job asks you to use your personal bank account and/or open a new one.

    2) Job asks you to print/mail/cash a check or money order.

    3) Job asks you to use Western Union or moneygram in any capacity.

    4) Job asks you to accept packages and re-ship them on to anyone.

    5) Job asks you to pay visas, travel fees via Western Union or moneygram.

    6) Job asks you to sign up for a credit reporting or identity verification site.

    Avoiding all jobs that mention any of the above listed 'red flags' and you will miss nearly all fake jobs. Only scammers ask you to do any of the above. No. Exceptions. Ever. For any reason.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 9 years ago

    100% SCAM. There is NO job if you were not flown to the UK for an interview at the company's office. It's a scam to steal your money and identity


    If the email is not from @ukba.gsi.gov.uk you are NOT dealing with anyone working for the Home Office, which handles work visas. @consultant.com is a FREE email address that scammers love because it sounds 'official'

    You do not SEND a letter to anyone. The ONLY way to get a visa is to BRING your offer letter, passport and visa application (downloaded for free from the UK Visas site) http://www.ukvisas.gov.uk/en/howtoapply/vafs/ - download VAF2 and documents listed on the application TO the British Embassy/Consulate/High Commission in YOUR country. Nobody can do this for you and it cannot be done by mail or email. You must appear IN PERSON as you are required to be photographed and fingerprinted before you turn in your passport and papers to apply for the visa

    If anybody has asked you to do anything but make an appointment at the British embassy/consulate/high commission in YOUR country then it's more proof you have been scammmed

    If you have already sent these criminals a copy of your passport or any money you need to contact your local police, national passport office and whichever agency investigates internet crime as you are the victim of fraud and identity theft

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Gerd P
    Lv 7
    9 years ago

    Next they want you to send money by western union. Scam for sure. The British Immigration authority (Homeoffice) does not use a *.com address but has the ending *.gov.uk. All work visa applications must be made by the employee at the U.K. Embassy/High Commission/Consulate General at the employee's home country. The prospective employer has to provide a Certificate of Sponsorship (COS) which enables to apply for the visa. Everybody telling you a different procedure is a scammer!!

    http://www.ukvisas.gov.uk/en/howtoapply/infs/inf26... ..

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 6 years ago

    I got a job offer from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel <career@doubletreewestminsterhotels.co.uk>;. Then got an email from UK Visas and Immigration <seth.arthur@ukvi-gov.co.uk>;. How is that for real ?

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Susan
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

    obviously not. It's not a government address. Sounds like a common scam. Generally there are no visa for hotel jobs for non-EU citizens.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 6 years ago

    I too got a job offer just for sending my CV ,without even phone interview from

    Sir George Williams


    Britannia International Hotel

    and they sent me a form to fill/ scan and mail to unitedkingdomimmigrationservice@consultant.com.

    • ...Show all comments
    • M IHSAN4 years agoReport

      I received it too also... Britannia international hotel UK London. for the post of Mechanical Engineer
      is this Scam? plz tell.....

      Sir George William are Admin manager at Britannia hotel London.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    5 years ago

    i have found a host family in the UK, and told me to email/contact the UK visas and immigration center to ukvi.gov.uk@outlook.com and i want to know is this legit?

  • 5 years ago

    I also got it... job ofer from a host family... yes thats the email they gave ukvi.gov.uk@outlook.com

    So Im also confuse if this is legit or not...

  • 9 years ago

    Of course it's a scam!

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 9 years ago

    "@consultant.com" is a free email address service, not immigration.

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.