newt_nc asked in PetsDogs · 9 years ago

My dog won't let me put a harness on her.?

Ever since I've had my dog (she's 1 1/2 yrs old) I've taken her on walks. I have been putting a harness on her for about 9 months now, and I am tired of her trying to run away and turn her head away from me when trying to put the harness on. I have another dog (he's 8 months) that has no issues at all with the harness, he holds still and lets me put it on him completely. What should I do? Thanks in advance!

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You can try to get her used to the harness and use positive reinforcement which will hopefully make her feel neutral about it, making it easy for you to put it on.

This is what I would do. Sometime when you have a lot of free time in a day, on a weekend or something, start a mini training session. Put the harness on the floor somewhere, then using pieces of dry food (or little bits of cookie bones if you don't use dry food) ask her to sit next to the harness, lay down, give paw... whatever commands she knows and give lots of praise. Staying calm and positive is very key, dogs pick up if you're feeling anxious!

After a few commands, if she's doing well, try putting the harness over her head. Not even putting it on correctly, just draping it on her and do some more "sit" commands, rewarding with food to calm her down.

If she gets anxious when you add the harness, just be patient + don't try to force it. Eventually you should be able to put the harness on the correct way. Try having her wear it around the house for a while (an hour'ish) then go for a walk outside.

It may take days for it to work, but pe patient!

Source(s): Volunteer for a dog rescue
  • 4 years ago