How do you tell if your ac unit has a heat pump?

I dont know if my unit has heat elements or a heat pump

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Flip your t-stat too heat if the unit out side comes on and you get heat it is a heat pump-Here's your sign. Sorry had too say that. I am a heating/cooling service tech in west virgina. I have lived in Nc and Fl I am over 50yrs old. You need to call in a service tech so they can explain the system too you. Now lets do a little home work. I have worked for many service company's and sales so you better pay attention. If they are advertising a inspection for 29.95------49.95 they will send out a service tech that has the main purpose of selling you something and could care less if u understood what he/she was telling u or not. Look at the manufacture name of you unit. Trane,Payne,Lennox what ever and go on line find a factory authorized company. At least this way u get some one who has too answer for any thing they say or do that is unethical. I too sell but I sleep very well at night and most of my customers can fix small problems them selves after I leave. My company charges an hourly rate that starts from the time I start to drive too you home until I am 1/2 way to the next call. etc. no Flat rate on parts etc. On many Thermostats there is a mode button or selector switch=cool-heat-em heat-off this type of t-stat is a heat pump// heat-cool-off is non heat pump could be electric or gas or oil need too know exactly. what is you Mechanical ability. go on line check factory reps. Luck too you and yes even with spell check I am not a writer my fingernails stay dirty. Peace!!

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago