Recommendation on cordless drill?

Hi,

I currently have a mastercraft cordless drill and the battery isn't lasting as long and the charger has seemed to stop working.

Instead of trying to replace both - I'm thinking it might be cheaper to get a new cordless drill.

I'm an average DIYer with little knowledge of carpentry so the drill will get the usual home-owner use.

Does anyone have any recommendations..??

(I've heard the brand names are good but not sure the 'better' one to get for the dollar spent...)

Thanks,

18 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Best Answer

I work in construction and have used many types of cordless drills over the years. The mastercraft drills don't seem to keep a charge very long and are easy to break but are cheap to buy. Sears Craftsman drills are good and don't cost much more than mastercraft but battery life is average. DeWalt are expensive and I think overrated. Milwaukee drills are expensive and high quality. The best cordless drill I have ever used was an 18V made by Panasonic. The battery lasted longer than the 24V heavy duty DeWalt we had and it had lots of torque and was durable but expensive.

At home I use a 19.2V Sears Craftsman with the Die Hard batteries and it seems to work well.

• 9 years ago

It sounds like you are leaving your battery in the charger for too long. They tend to die quick if you are always leaving them in the charger all day or all night. Always pull them out after an hour's charging and they should do fine. Repeat leaving them in for several hours at a time, and they stop holding a charge in a week. Batteries almost always last for two years if they are treated strictly according to instructions.

It depends on what you are after. Mastercraft and Sear's Craftsman are middle quality brands that can do anything an equivalent drill from Dewalt can do, but I wouldn't take them out of a shop into a construction site. They break too easy.