Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceStudying Abroad · 10 years ago

Exchange student: So many problems :(?

Hey.

I'm an exchange student and live in the USA right now. Before i was finally here I was SO excited for my time. Everyone told me how awesome this time is going to be and how easy it is to make new friends because everyone is so interested in you.

But then i arrived and my first schooldays were pretty hard for me. Everyone i met was at first friendly but they always just said: Oh wow you're from so far away. Cool.

But that's it. Don't understand me wrong. I know that I am the one who should try to meet new people and to make friends because I can't expect it from anyone else. But you know. I really did. I tried so hard. I asked some girls if we could have lunch together and stuff. With some girls i had then also lunch and I was so happy when they asked me if I wanna go to a party with them on weekend. For sure I said yes and even when I was pretty nervous I really had fun this night.

I really thought I would have made a lot of new friends and that everything is getting better, but now, it always feels like I would annoy them, whenever I'm around them. They don't text me anymore and it just feels like they aren't interested in me anymore. :(

I still ask them for lunch and if we could maybe hang out during the weekend and so on, but (I don't know how to descripe it) I just feel like they don't wanna do something with me.

I'm just since three weeks here and that's also why I know, that it's a too short time to make deep friends but I really feel like I don't have any friends and that makes me always so sad.

I'll stay here for 5month and I don't know what to do, when I won't make friends.

My family is really great but somehow my one hostbrother isn't talking very much to me. He's in my age and I don't know what I'm doing wrong. All the adults are so intrested in me, just teenagers in my age are the opposite of it.