Are young adult books suitable for adults?

Not quite sure how to structure this question, but was just wondering if 'young adult' books which i guess are aimed at teenagers are suitable for people in their 20's? Im pretty new to reading and cant say i have read a 'young adult' book before so dont really know what to expect from one.

Are there any adults on here who regularly purchase young adult books and are satisfied by them? The book im thinking of purchasing is the 'The Hunger Games".

15 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

They're not *aimed* at adults, but there's no reason why adults can't read them. Some of them have crossover appeal - a great book is a great book, it doesn't matter who it was originally aimed at. :-)

The Hunger Games is read by plenty of adults - nobody will judge you for buying it.

It would be weird if you *only* read young adult books, but to read some young adult books along with other stuff is absolutely fine. Go for it!

@Huntress

"overt sexual themes and abject violence found in those aimed just at adults."

Not all adult books have those things in them. In fact, the *vast majority* of adult books have neither.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 9 years ago

Some are, some aren't. Some of the young adult books deal with things like high school cliques - and these would bore a 20-year old to death. But some young adult books are well written and have a good following among 20 and 30-year old readers.

Just as an example, go to smashwords.com or amazon.com and look at The Long Way Home, by Florida Town. This is a story with lots of action and adventure, plus discovery and survival - and a few surprises. It's a story that can be read and enjoyed by any member of the family - young adults, regular adults or old adults.