lane
Lv 4
lane asked in Arts & HumanitiesTheater & Acting · 1 decade ago

"No rules in playwriting" - how can this be?

Seems ridiculous.

Update:

Oh come on. You need characters. Generally, at least an impression of an event taking place, at a conceptual or metaphoric level. There's some kind of communication happening, about something, and it's not ad hoc or in a vaccuum.

I agree that performance, costume, and sets can make a non-event interesting; even that words aren't necessary - but you can't just crap on a page and expect it to be meaningful.

Update 2:

Thanks Alan, for your comprehensive and thoughtful response. I take on board Susan Parks' dictum. I've not studied theatre, and can only count myself an avid theatre goer and absolute beginner to writing. That said, a few points for consideration...

A rocking chair *is* an event, if a small one, and it at least implies the presence of a human being (if not a discrete persona, character, or actor), or human activity - which I suppose amounts to the sense of liveness you mention.

For me, 'people who say lines' needn't be fully developed characters. Even a word implies a characterization process, of a kind - we draw conclusions about entities from much less than that.

In Godot - though 'nothing happens twice', Pozzo and Lucky's arrival presents a sort of interruption in Vladimir and Estragon's waiting. It raises the question of hope, expectation... the anticipated event (whether or not it will come to fruition) is implied. So the notion of event is present, even in its absence.

My

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

This idea comes from a contemporary thought process best articulated by Susan Lori Parks who said in an essay, "Content dictates form." Essentially this means that what you want to write about determines how you write about it.