promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentPolitics · 10 years ago

Is any mention of the word "civility" in reference to the Tuscon shooting per se politicizing?

I think yes because I don't even see an attenuated connection between Loughner's actions and ANY political discourse.

Some may find it fun to say what books he read, or what nut job theory he believed, but judging from two videos I watched, and the to youtube rants, he was apolitical.

Why are mainstream liberal politicians still peddling the "civility" angle, and why are some Republicans buy into it?

Update:

EDIT: haha, "elite" has been an insult I've been using for over 20 years. I never knew a time when it had a GOOD connotation.

I guess I'm the product of US public urban education...

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Jason
    Lv 6
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Not necessarily.

Obviously, Loughner is deranged and his psychosis does not stem from any source but his own mind; but, given his bizarre rantings on grammar, I can see how the political discourse may have contributed to his psychosis.

There's no denying the fact that, in Politics, words and concepts are frequently used ambiguously and outside their denotative context. This leads to political speech which is confusing and, at times, self-contradictory.

Loughner apparently studied many of the best works employing that kind of fuzzy political rhetoric and his already disturbed mind used them to build his own subjective political reality (sound familliar?).

Granted, the problem isn't civility itself, but the lack of civility is a symptom of the underlying problem: Deceptive political rhetoric.

That said, its a problem that has concerned Political-Philosophers for centuries (from Confucius to Orwell to Chomsky). One could also argue though that nature of information technology has amplified the problem.