How to write a cover letter--lab tech to research coordinator?

I have worked as a research lab tech doing basic experiments for a year and have a bachelor's in biomedical science (like biology for pre-vet/meds). I want to be a research coordinator but I can't figure out what to do for the cover letter, since my experience is in the actual lab work and I know coordinators deal with the applications and paperwork. Can anyone in the field help?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Best Answer

I work as a CRA and I monitor a research coordinator's work every day.

These are the traits of a person that make a good coordinator:

-Ability to multitask

-Detail-oriented

-Organized

-Ability to follow directions (in a protocol)

Relate you responsibilities to each of these traits.

I would structure your letter like this:

Address/Standard Heading

Greeting,

Explain who you are and what job you are applying for.

Talk about how your skills relate to the position of being a coordinator. (Don't talk about how good you are at working in a lab, talk about how your can effectively transfer your lab skills in to the clinical arena)

Conclusion, provide contact information

Sincerely,

Your Name

• darsch
    Lv 4
    3 years ago