physics pls help...propagation of sound?

hi. im studying in 9th std. im from india. i have to take physics class about" propagation of sound " tomorrow. i want some simple details about that. (i have to explain that). (which is easy to understand) i want some examples and some question and answers. pls help.. thanks

Update:

how does sound propagate...?

Update 2:

i dont have any books about sound and i searched on wikipedia , its not that much clear.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

these are some simple points related to sound

1.sound is a form of energy

2.it causes sensation of hearing on reaching the ear

3.any vibrating body could be a source of sound

4.sound needs a medium to propagate

sound cannot travel in vacuum.that is why we cannot hear anything in space as there is no medium

5.sound can be classified into 3 types based on its frequency

frequency is the no. of waves that cross a point in 1sec.foe ex:if 200waves cross a point in 1 sec the frequency of the sound is 200Hz [hertz , unit of frequency ]

6.audible ,sound freq range 20-20,000Hz

ultrasonic , freq above 20,000Hz

infrasonic , freq below 20Hz

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anov
    Lv 6
    9 years ago

Sound wave is called longitudinal wave because it travels longitudinally in the direction to the propagation of the wave.It is a mechanical wave. To produce sound wave there needs a disturbance.