Naval Academy or NROTC?

I'm a sophomore in high school currently looking at my options for college and beyond. My question is what is the lifestyle and benefits of attending the USNA compared to attending a NROTC unit? Also, after graduation will I be stuck with a reserve commission if I go NROTC or can I go active duty (what I would like to do)?

Worth mentioning...a little background of myself...

3.8 GPA

Some community service work

Don't do drugs/drink at all

Award from city-wide organization for leadership/job-well-done style award

Captain on my soccer teams for past 3 yrs

Varsity soccer

If there are any NROTC or USNA grads out there that can give me their stories from college and give some insight of life as both a USNA or NROTC student that would be great. Thank you in advance.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Tom
    Lv 7
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

There is no longer a difference in commissions between an Nrotc and Naval Academy commissioned officer. The same holds for West Point and Rotc and Usaf and Afrotc. Scroll down to Regular v Reserve Officers" at the following link:

http://usmilitary.about.com/od/promotions/l/bloffi...

Nrotc and Afrotc are not commissioning programs for commissioned officers who will serve in the Reserves by choice. Army Rotc commissions officers who will not serve on active duty by choice but serve in the Reserves or National Guard. The Navy Reserves for the most part only takes Officers who have previously served on active duty.

Good understanding of Nrotc by reading the FAQ on the website of the nation's first Nrotc Battalion:

http://navyrotc.berkeley.edu/faq.shtml

A MIDN's perspective on his time spent in Nrotc:

http://www.lukeswartz.com/nrotc.html