Manual Transmission vs. Automatic Transmission (Canada)?

Im gonna get my drivers license sometime in 2011 (age of 16, allowed to get Ontario drivers license :D)... And I was wondering what would be better, (since I live in Southern Ontario... near the blue water bridge) A manual Transmission or Automatic Transmission...

I tried to research this on the internet, but they're not so good answers, so I would like opinions from drivers.

Oh and what are the pros and cons of Manual and automatic transmission..?

P.S; I'm also looking/researching on Hatchback Cars (Honda Fit, Chevolet Aveo, Ford Fiesta, etc)

thanks.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Sheff
    Lv 5
    9 years ago
    Best Answer

I've been driving stick for over 5 years now and I can share my experience with you.

Pros -

1) Manual cars are cheaper to purchase then automatic, I've used the money I saved to buy a package

2) Repairing is cheaper on manual cars

3) They tend to save more gas then their automatic versions if driven properly

4) They offer more safety on bad road conditions such as snow or wet roads because you use the transmission to slow down

5) You can chose performance over fuel economy in a stick shift by when you choose shift

Cons -

1) The ride is jerky, especially if your a passenger it can feel terrible like hitting a wall during shifts, not as bad if your the driver. this is because you are constantly letting go off the gas. You can try this on older automatic car. Accelerate the car then let go of the gas, you will feel the jerking. It's even worse when you take it to higher RPM and shift gears. Also 1st gear in a manual is very jerky if you do not shift and let go of the gas, same can be said with 2nd gear on some cars.