promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Don S
Lv 5
Don S asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 9 years ago

How was it possible for the military to entrust to a lowly Pfc (Manning)...?

extensive amount of super sensitive material over a period of time? What kind of special qualifications did Pfc. Manning have for the military to allow him access to top secret documents over a period of years? I was a commissioned officer aboard ship in the US Navy and I couldn't gain access to the radio room. What does this tell you about the quality of our security? And why hasn't the media question Pfc. Manning's accessibility towards these sensitive military and diplomatic documents. Someone higher up may provide some answers to this.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The material released to Wikileaks, while extensive, certainly wasn't super sensitive. At best it was mildly embarrassing for the United States to have the information become public. I'm assuming, since Manning is a PFC, his access to the documents didn't occur over a period of years, but that he got access to all of it over a relatively short period of time. The Army promotes enlisted faster then the Navy does, and PFC is an easy rank to receive. I have seen some media personalities questioning Manning's accessibility, but I agree not many. I'm assuming that prior to the trial, the Army isn't willing to disclose to many details about Manning's case for fear of jeopardizing the prosecutions efforts. After Manning's Court Marshal more information should be forthcoming.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Ray
    Lv 7
    9 years ago

PFC Manning worked in military intelligence and had a top secret clearance. All this means is that his background check was spectacularly uneventful. You can't quantify "douchebag" with a fingerprint check or a credit check.