Can the US block a citizen from another country from traveling again?

Ok, I am a South African student. Recently, a student claiming to be an American (which I doubt by his North African, possibly Nigerian accent) caused some trouble in a class. A friend of mine asked him if he could move one seat (there were empty seats next to him) because she wanted to sit next to her friend. He refused, calling her a "f#cking b#tch" and cursing with similar foul language to her mother. I could not simply sit there and listen to his outrageous reaction to her modest request, so I told him firmly that "you do not speak that way to a lady". He then threatened me with American Marshals (apparently "no match for our South African po-po") etc etc....

We reported the incident to the lecturer and the University's Protectional Services and there is a case (two other plaintiffs as well) that is ongoing.

ON CHRISTMAS DAY, we received a phonecall on our landline from a person claiming to be from the American dept. of Home Affairs threatening me that "i will never leave the borders of South Africa again" if I continue with the case at the University (which I am only a witness in). We (me and my family) didn't much care about this because it seemed outrageous - but I worried a bit about WHERE HE GOT OUR LANDLINE NUMBER, because the University would never give out such information to strangers.

Yesterday (Sunday) evening, he (or his friend/somebody) phoned again - this time threatening that he knows EXACTLY where we live (even stated the address). After this we became very scared and went to report it to the police.

If there are any American citizens out there who could reassure me that these threats are empty (or otherwise) I would be very glad. I would like to know what I can do to protect my family.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    10 years ago
    Favorite Answer