Mental problems after a car crash?

What are some mental problems one can encounter after having been through a car crash, and having a loved one and a stranger lose their lives?

I mean, sure they're guilt and shock, but what bigger things can these lead to? (for example it can lead it depression)

Update:

could it lead to bipolar disease or manic depression?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • I P
    Lv 4
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

ultimately, it can lead to Post traumatic stress disorder, which would include secondary issues such as depression and other aviodant behavior which reinforce their phobias,, as well as possible medical conditions such as headaches from whiplash,, as well as changes in their personality if there was brain trauma... but that is not common unless bodily harm was a result of the crash. however, i would consult a medical doctor for that, as i am a psychologist.

PTSD can be complex and present itself immediately of within 6-months of the traumatizing event.

PTSD and clinical depression can be diagnosed simultaneously, only if both diagnosis are warranted. and not better account for by a sole diagnosis of PTSD,, because all anxiety does carry depressive fts with it,

just so you know manic depressive and bipolar are the same exact disorder,, just different terms

manic-depression is from DSM-III

and bipolar is from the updated DSM-IV.

your question is a good one,, to answer your question,, no. someone does not get bipolar from a car crash,, not at all.

however, this is where it gets technical, research shows that individuals how have been diagnosed with bipolar as an adult also reported being traumatized in their childhood, it is clinical association but does not cause bipolar. Bipolar will only express itself if the individual had a genetic vulnerability for it, rather than getting into a car crash.