Ellis asked in SportsBaseball · 10 years ago

how many awards have there been given to minorities in major league baseball ever since integration started?


I need to know because i have a huge project due and i need the numbers... lol... no i'm not racist thanks...

3 Answers

  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Hm. Well, let's count -- only MVPs, Cy Young, and ROYs -- starting with Robinson's 1947 Rookie Of The Year season. This information isn't always obvious, so if there's any mistakes, they are completely mine, and I'd expect omission more than misidentification.

    For minority groups, I'll go with "blacks" (defined here as "really dark skinned and not obviously in the Latino group"), Latinos (Central American / South American / Caribbean, at least by recent ancestry), Asians, and Canadians.


    MVPs -- Jackie Robinson, Roy Campanella 3, Willie Mays 2, Don Newcombe, Hank Aaron, Ernie Banks 2, Elston Howard, Frank Robinson 2, Maury Wills, Bob Gibson, Willie McCovey, Vida Blue, Dick Allen, Reggie Jackson, Joe Morgan 2, George Foster, Rod Carew, Dave Parker, Jim Rice, Don Baylor, Willie Stargell, Willie McGee, Andre Dawson, Kevin Mitchell, Rickey Henderson, Barry Bonds 7, Terry Pendleton, Frank Thomas 2, Barry Larkin, Mo Vaughn, Ken Griffey Jr., Ryan Howard, Jimmy Rollins. (46)

    CYAs -- Don Newcombe, Bob Gibson 2, Vida Blue, Doc Gooden, CC Sabathia. (6)

    ROYs -- Jackie Robinson, Don Newcombe, Sam Jethroe, Willie Mays, Joe Black, Jim Gilliam, Frank Robinson, Willie McCovey, Billy Williams, Dick Allen, Tommie Agee, Rod Carew, Chris Chambliss, Earl Williams, Gary Matthews, Al Bumbry, Bake McBride, Andre Dawson, Eddie Murray, Lou Whitaker, Darryl Strawberry, Doc Gooden, Al Davis, Vince Coleman, Jerome Walton, David Justice, Pat Listach, Derek Jeter, Dontrelle Willis, Ryan Howard. (30)


    MVPs -- Zoilo Versalles, Roberto Clemente, Orlando Cepeda, Keith Hernandez, Willie Hernandez, George Bell, Jose Canseco, Juan Gonzalez 2, Ivan Rodriguez, Sammy Sosa, Miguel Tejada, Alex Rodriguez 3, Vladimir Guerrero, Albert Pujols 3. (19)

    CYAs -- Mike Cuellar, Fernando Valenzuela, Willie Hernandez, Pedro Martinez 3, Johan Santana 2, Bartolo Colon, Felix Hernandez. (10)

    ROYs -- Luis Aparicio, Orlando Cepeda, Tony Oliva, Alfredo Griffin, Fernando Valenzuela, Ozzie Guillen, Jose Canseco, Benito Santiago, Sandy Alomar Jr., Raul Mondesi, Carlos Beltran, Rafael Furcal, Nomar Garciaparra, Albert Pujols, Angel Berroa, Hanley Ramirez, Geovany Soto, Neftali Feliz. (18)


    MVPs -- Ichiro Suzuki. (1)

    CYAs -- none.

    ROYs -- Hideo Nomo, Kazuhiro Sasaki, Ichiro Suzuki. (3)


    MVPs -- Larry Walker, Justin Morneau, Joey Votto. (3)

    CYAs -- Ferguson Jenkins (although he could file under "black"), Eric Gagne. (2)

    ROYs -- Jason Bay, Ryan Braun. (2)

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    10 years ago

    It depends on your definition of minority.Do you mean ethnically because there have

    been literally hundreds of awards won by Black,Asian,Latino and players of suspect

    persuasion.MVPs,Cy Youngs,Batting Titles,HR Titles etc.You need to be more specific.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Chris
    Lv 5
    10 years ago

    wow racist? much well lets see i would say it is about 50/50 so ya

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.