Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceHomework Help · 1 decade ago

How are Patents good for consumers?

I'm currently studying monopoly's in economics, and one question is why are patents good for consumers? Any ideas / suggestions or even examples would be great..... :)

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well....If the consumer needs a medicine, to lower cholesterol for example, then the consumer benefits from patents.

Discovering a new medicine costs a lot of money, but manufacturing most medicines is fairly inexpensive. So, If I invest a billion dollars to discover a new cholesterol medicine, I have to charge a lot to get my investment back and make a profit. If I dont have patent protection, then the drug maker down the street can just get a sample of my medicine and figure out how to make it. Because they didnt invest in figuring out which drug works and which doesn't, they can sell the drug for a lot less and I go out of business. So, I wont discover the next drug.

Also, patents expire and they tell how to make the invention. So, when they expire, everyone can make it and in my example, the drug becomes available for the lowest possible price.

Similar examples can be given for other kinds of inventions.

• 1 decade ago