im a college student living at home, what freedoms should i get?

Im nineteen and living at home while attending community school full time. I also have a full time job for the past year and have good grades. I have car payments, pay for each semester in cash( from my job) because they wont help me with college. pay for my own groceries and food, i bought all my books and art supplies(200$ semester)

gas each week, and basically everything else besides my car insurance and phone bill. I make a grand a month.

Everynight is a battle between me and my parents. They are super strict and even though they have mellowed out i still have rules i have to follow. I feel like i cant do anything without letting them know who im with or what im doing.

I have to lie each weekend to avoid fights, my weekends consit of me working, going out to a party, and then going to spend the night at my boyfriends. This is the one thing the are so against. Now that its snowing and i have to drive back roads, i just feel like it would be more convenient for me to spend the night there.

My parents finally told me that i can stay out till two on weekdays and go out to parties on weekends, but i doubt they will stick to it. My parents told me they would let me spend the night at my boyfriends house if they talked to his parents, but his parents dont want to deal with drama because my parents are so crazy so they refuse to talk to them.

what rules do other college students living at home have?

i feel like its a little different for me since i pay for my college and everything else.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 4 years ago