How to date as a single mom?

Ok so yesterday I was really stressed so my bestfriend volunteered to let me go out and watch my daughter (18 months) and my son (7). I'm 27 and love my kids to death but I needed a night out. I went to a club I go to every now and then and know most the people there (I'm a dance instructor so I know most of them from competitions). When I go out my intentions are never to meet a guy because I think most club guys are just trying to get laid and drunk, and I just go to dance. So I actually met a cute guy who I danced with most of the night. He was really sweet I gave him my number and he called today. Here is the issue he is 24 and we haven't discussed it but I don't think he has kids. Usually when I date a guy the person knows upfront that I'm a mom but in this situation when do I tell him. And I never dated a guy who doesn't also have kids so I was wondering what to expect? I know I'm jumping the gun alot but I guess this is advice that can also help if I meet another guy in the future who doesn't have kids. Do you think guys who don't have kids would except my situation or get serious with me? Also should I consider the age difference I usually date older guys so this is something new for me? What you think?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Just be yourself. If its meant to be it will be. ;-)

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Hi, as a man who has been in a relationship for over 3 years with a single mum who is two years older than me I can hopefully offer you some decent advice here.

Firstly you do need to say to him early on that you are a single mum. some guys will be bothered by that, some not. Depends how open and loving a guy he is.

It is not good to develop the relationship further without being open and honest. I would tell him on, or before, your next date.