Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsMartial Arts · 10 years ago

do you think Katana swords are overrated ?

I'm not a sword expert I have fought a couple Shani and heavy battles with the ECS, SCA.

I know that Hollywood makes the Katana look like the best swords ever made- breaking European long swords and the like. Assuming the metals and lengths were the same from the swords I've handled I'd think the European swords would be better since you have a blade on both sides and a better point giving you more ways to attack with it. Though you could make the argument the two swords were designed to be used in different ways.

Any how do you think Katanas deserve there reputation

or do you think it comes from being "exotic foreign blades"

Update:

Lex are you saying European swords are heavier because of European smithing methods or because of size?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

"do you think Katana swords are overrated ?"

No.

I think the Hollywood magic of them breaking European blades is stupid, but that doesn't make them overrated by the martial arts community as a whole. I would at least like to assume that we're a bit smarter than anyone who believes what they see in films is real.

"Assuming the metals and lengths were the same..."

They're not. The traditional construction of the katana differs from the traditional construction of European blades. Also, what with them having been made on different sides of the globe, I'm willing to bet the chemical makeup of the metals wasn't exactly the same, either.

"I'd think the European swords would be better since you have a blade on both sides and a better point giving you more ways to attack with it. Though you could make the argument the two swords were designed to be used in different ways."