Do you know the difference between a veterinary technician vs a veterinary assistant?

I'm a veterinary technician student and I need your help on a persuasive essay.

Please I would like to know your answers! :) Afterwards if you're curious to know and do not know definitely google/yahoo it :).

How important is your veterinarian's staff and how much do they matter to you? Do you feel like they are knowledgable?

Have any good stories you can tell me? (Ex: The receptionist almost dropped my dog?)

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Megan
    Lv 4
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Technicians in America have to graduate for a 2 or 4 year program (Chris is wrong about the tech vs. assistant there but a technologist graduates from a 4 year program) that is AVMA accredited. They then have to pass the VTNE, a national examination. Most states also require a seperate state exam in order to be licensed as well. There is no education requirement for a veterinary assistant, though a high school diploma is minimal.

A vet tech can bascially do everything except prescribe, diagnose, prognose, and perform surgery. Anything else animal related we can do. There are limits to a veterinary assistant legally, and many states and clinics have different policies.

I love the clinic that I work at. A lot of the doctors are foreign and have different policies in their native countries. I love going to work and learning something new everyday. Just last week I learned about hypothermia in dogs and a new technique for holding cats in a lateral position.