What College Should I Go To?

I am currently a freshman at Salem College in Winston Salem, NC. I am looking to transfer somewhere but I am having a hard time narrowing down where I should look. I want to move just to see the world. I have no declared major and no idea what I want to major in. I love skiing and snow, swimming at the beach, hiking, exploring both cities and the great outdoors. I am from Pennsylvania and I've been to: Colorado, Utah, Montana, Wyoming, Florida, Maryland, West Virgina, Virgina, Maryland, and most of New England. I've traveled abroad to Italy and I am open to international schools as well. Please, if you have any ideas, let me know!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

At this point you should just bail out on college for a year or so. There's no point wasting good money on an undeclared major. Take a year off and travel or be a nomad worker. If you like to ski, get a job for the winter working at a resort. Many bigger resorts offer housing. If you work in the hotel or the group sales areas they usually willing to train you and you get to ski for free on your days off. Try to bank some of the money so you can get through April and early May and then take a seasonal job as a river guide or in a park or with a conservation crew working on trails or something of that sort. There are many career opportunities in adventure tourism or hospitality, but the key is to find the thing you want to do and then go to school for that.