promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Why did I get denied from Georgia Tech?

I am an in-state student and a girl, mixed race - Hispanic and white.

Grades: CNA of a 95.3, class rank 42/569, GT GPA of 4.06. 7 honors classes and 9 AP classes

Grades:

9th

h. BIO 99/99

H. LIT 96/97

H. GEO 101/99

span 2 92/93

gov 95

10th

H. chem 97/93

H. lit 93/97

H. alg 2 95/95

AP world 99/98

span 3 91/93

AP USH 89/93

AP BIO 92/92

AP HUMAN GEO 95/96

AP Lang 90/95

H. Precal 87/95

span 4 91/92

12th grade schedule/grade

AP cal AB 92

AP psychology 90

AP Lit 88

AP Physics 88

Human Anatomy 93

SAT/ACT

Sat:

math: 760

CR: 700

Writing: 690

Act:

Math: 34

English/writing: 33

Science 32

Reading: 31

Essay:

It was good, I got my AP Lit teacher to grade it and she gave me a 93 (she rarely gives A's).

Extracurriculars:

top 4 clubs

Student council- President all 4 years

environmental club- Founded, president last 2 years

NHS- Secretary. Tutor kids in Math and Science

Debate- Member all 4 years, won around 34 awards. 1 national

Arts

Chorus all 4 years

made all state, Acda ( national chorus), district honors, and GHP in chorus (state)

Sports

Varsity Track- all 4 years, captain last year and this year. Lettered 3 times

Varsity Cross Country- all 4 year. lettered 2 times

dance (community - heavily involved, many recitals, few solos)

Volunteer

library (30 hours)

Hospital (60 hours)

Habitat for Humanity (20 hours)

Work:

none...:( haven't had time or inclination but I figured i did enough.

Update:

but I'm above the 50% range in both GPA and SAT/ACT range, and my extracurriculars are above average.

Update 2:

Didn't have to submit a recommendation letter, so didn't.

Update 3:

Plus, It's going to be harder to get A's in AP classes than in honors, if they think that is an issue, then they obviously have forgotten how school is.

Update 4: