how long after sell-by date is it safe to eat chicken?

If raw chicken sat in the fridge for 4 days after sell-by date, and then was cooked, how long would it be safe to eat after that?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

A sell by date is not an expiration date and can usually be cooked and eaten safely many days later.

when raw: look for slime or any type of odor. if so disgard.

when cooked and cooled properly you can get an aditional 3 to 5 days without any trouble.

the key here is time and temperture. Chicken should be cooked to an internal temp of a 165 degree's.

All reheated food should also be heated to a 165 degrees.

It's time and temp abuse of food that creates an over abundance of harmful bacteria.

Spoilage organisms are gross and nasty but generally will not make a person sick if consumed.

Source(s): I am a chef of over 14 years.
    • Login to reply the answers
  • dilox
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

Sell By Date On Chicken

• 3 years ago

Chicken Sell By Date

• 9 years ago

If you are going to freeze it now then it is good for about a month. But if you have it in the refrigerator then it is good for about a couple of more days. They put the sale by date on the meats because the grocery stores don't know when a customer is going to actually start cooking the meat. So it has to be sold at a certain time just in case they wait. It is not waiting too long and they are selling you rotten meats. Most of those meats are cheaper and good to cook right away because the grocery store meats are in a refrigerator section and it can't stay like that too long but if it was in a refrigerator it extends the life of a meat.

So the answer to your questions is yes it is good. But don't have it just sitting out. Treat it like the date is not there and cook it. I would put it in the freezer until I was ready to use it. Alot of people see the date on something and just get scared it is ok honestly!