about how much hp would be gained?

I have a 355 chevy, and I am putting vortec heads on, but idk if I should go carb or tbi. how much hp is gained from tbi over carb? and how much of a pain is it to install tbi vs "bolt on and go" carb? i realize carbs aren't just bolt on and go, but it is fairly simple.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

**EDIT** Carl.. I mean no disrespect but theres ALOT more to the edelbrock carb than just idle speed and idle air mixture screws. I'm a big fan of the weber design'ed carter AFB and edelbrock carbs for street use. I have been using and modding them for 15 years.

You have float adjustment, set-up springs, metering rods, front and rear jets, along with pump shot and squirter size.

Your the perfect example of what I ment by most people don't understand carbs well enough to dail them in perfect.

The step up springs is the transfer between idle/cruise/power circits in carb. The setup spring needed should be picked by the vac level of your engine at idle. Springs sold in 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 inch HG vac. Use the closest one to half of the amount of vac your engine pulls.

Then metering rods is for light throttle and med throttle use. The rod tapers and goes into front jets to block off fuel flow. The tip is smaller and the upper part is larger. The step up springs moves these rods up and down based on vac

Then you have a whole list of jet sizes to pick from. Best to tune with a wide band O2 to get perfect A/F ratio but you can track tune a carb by reading plugs and changing jets based on plug color

ALOT more than bolting it on and turning a couple of screws to get it dailed in perfect for your engine.. Sure it will run out of the box, but it will run better and get better mileage once fully tuned.

The last Edelbrock carb I ran was a 1405 600 cfm man. choke

Stock .100" front jets, .095" rear jets, orange 5" HG springs, .070" x .047" rods, pump linkage rod in middle hole