can i change my tongue bar after a week of getting it pierced?

i would like to change my tongue bar i only got it last tuesday....but there is no swelling or pain in my tongue so wat do ya think

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes but you need to get your piercer to do it. They have jewelry that has a certain metal in it that you can't buy in stores. Because the piercing isn't healed yet but the swelling is down (so no more need for that long bar) but yes you can change it. Get your piercer to do it

Source(s): I am a piercing artist
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

No, if I were you, I'd wait at least another week. Taking out the bar you have in now and putting in a new one could cause the tongue to swell, which isn't good if you want to replace it with a shorter bar.

• 1 decade ago

I don't think you should because the tongue ring is new and while the swelling have went down, it still a new thing in your mouth and you can do something by a mistake and cause swelling and when you do if the bar isn't long enough then..... that's a bad mistake waiting to happen

• 1 decade ago

Never having had a tongue piercing, I'm not very familiar with em. But this sounds like a bad idea.

No other piercings are okay to change in that time, even other oral ones.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Wait another week.

Fresh piercings can close up very quickly because

the skin hasn't fully healed.

Even changing after 2 weeks if very risky.

I would honestly wait a full month.

But if you want to change it out so fast, wait another week.

It takes a full year for any piercing to fully heal.

-Be careful, make sure to clean the new barbel before putting it

in! Even if it comes brand new in a package, doesn't mean it's clean.

Soak the new barbel in rubbing alcohol for 5 minutes.

Then soak it in SEA salt with warm water for another 5.