Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsFootball (American) · 9 years ago

Is it possible to play college football without high school experience?

My biggest regret after I graduated high school was never playing football. During my high school senior year, I found out I really loved the sport and grew a lot of knowledge for football in general. I was wondering if I could possibly play in college, even if I'm only on a D-3 team? Also, what would be a good weight, bench ect.? I work out regularly at a gym. I'm currently a freshman at a community college that doesn't have a football program, but the 4 year schools I'm looking to transfer to all have football programs.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Hawk M
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Best Answer

unless you have MAJOR speed and natural talent, no

all the other players have been doing this for years, and its the coaches job to put the best team on the field that he can

he doesn't have the time to teach you ll the basics that you should have learned in high school

• Anonymous
    9 years ago

I'm going through the same problem. It's tough to make it with out any experience. It really doesn't matter how much you bench. College football teams look for speed and athletism. A good weight is low to mid 200's. Try out for sure! Here is some motivation- my cousin just tried out for BYU, he didn't even know how to strap on his helmet but played his best. He made the team without having any experience in high school. Good luck!

• Donna
    Lv 4
    4 years ago