Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkBeer, Wine & Spirits · 10 years ago

Are liquor stores even that profitable?

I live in NYCand it's a bit competitive..but we have a large community of Bolivians/Peruvians where I live and I wanted to start a liquor store, SPECIFICALLY, to cater JUST to them. All of the liquor, drinks, snacks would be imported from Bolivia and Peru...nothing else..no american stuff...nothing.

I'm wondering how much a typical liquor store makes and what the start up costs are like...? I plan on renting a SMALL space...probably less than 700 sq. feet..as that will be MORE than enough room to display all the things I need to. Ideas?

PS. I'm a Registered Nurse getting out of the field...my fiance wants to run the liquor store, and I am gaining experience as a Tax Preparer..and I will run my own office.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

The first hurdle is to see if the license and permits are realistically possible to get. I don't know about NYC, but most places issue a finite number for a geographic area, and you basically are waiting for somebody to drop dead, or you have a truckload of cash to buy one from a current holder.

After that it comes down to basic business issues. What is the size of your target audience, how much disposable income do they have, how much is rent and how much would you have to sell to break even every month, what are the tariffs, excises, and restrictions of the stuff you want to import? The answers will give you your yes or no. Are there similar cheaper products that would be regionally produced/distributed inside the US that would be recognized and acceptable to your clientele? Is there already existing (competing) sellers of the products you are interested in selling, such as a grocer that supplies booze to the population under the counter?